Little Red and the Very Hungry Lion

One of my favouritist EVER illustrator is a disgustingly talented chap called Alex T Smith. A copy of his latest book ‘Little Red and the Very Hungry Lion’ arrived on my doormat this week and I couldn’t have been more excited.

Maisie having a look at my new copy.
Maisie having a look at my new copy.

The story is his take on Little Red Riding Hood, but set in Africa. I love the way he draws animals and people’s hair and I am inspired by his backgrounds. Sometimes it’s really important to simplify and get rid of too many details and he does this really well.

Inside page; look at the great colours.
Inside page; look at the great colours.
LOVE this picture of the lion's hair!
LOVE this picture of the lion’s hair!

As it happens, after many years of deflecting any urges to re-write fairy tales, I suddenly found myself writing my own version of Red Riding Hood last summer. In it, Red is more of a kick-ass bad girl who can definitely hold her own against the stinky old wolf and manages to prevent Grandmother’s demise all by herself. It’s still a work in progress as I have another project that needs to be done first, but you never know; if my Red is half as fabulous as Alex’s I’d be really chuffed.

Here's my version.
Here’s my version.
One thought on “Little Red and the Very Hungry Lion

  1. ‘Sometimes it’s really important to simplify and get rid of too many details’ ~ an excellent mantra for life, not just illustration, Jules! I’ll look out for Alex’s book, Grace would love it. Can’t wait to read your kick~ass bad girl version too! ❤

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

